I Am Back… And Some Things to Think About

I returned to work yesterday after several weeks off for maternity leave. While on leave I have been using most of my online “free time” to document little Dylan’s life, but now that I am back to work, I want to share some of the educational and “professional”  things that have been on my mind.

To begin, I have a few articles and/or blog posts I would like to share with you all. They are things that have really gotten me thinking about the direction of education.

The first is a blog post from Jeff Utecht which discusses the possible demise of the traditional educational model with the creation of the University of the People. It is a good read with some interesting ideas.

The next is an article from Campus Technology which discusses how textbooks are evolving from printed to more “Web 2.0″ based. There are some great links to free online textbooks and some thought-provoking concepts.

And finally, this article from eSchools outlines how a Colorado district is reorganizing their schools from the traditional model. I would love to hear your thoughts on the ideas in this article.

With the ideas from these articles in my head, and some questions from some of my fellow staff members, I have begun to formulate a potential new plan for staff development opportunities on my campus… once I get my idea a little more organized, I will share it with you all to get some feedback.

Hopefully, I will begin posting and reflecting on a somewhat regular basis again…

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “I Am Back… And Some Things to Think About”

  1. John Brown Says:

    I like what the Colorado school is doing with regard to methodology. Too often educators (by nature most are risk-averse people) are unwilling to step out of the traditional box and try bold new approaches.

    On the other hand, until the stuck-in-the-mud educational standards established by stuck-in-the-mud educators are discarded and replaced by standards appropriate to the challenges that students face beyond high school, and acknowledging that different students have different talents to be developed, there cannot be success in providing a relevant education to every student.


  2. You could certainly see your expertise in the work you write.
    The sector hopes for more passionate writers such as you who are
    not afraid to mention how they believe.
    At all times go after your heart.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

