Social Bookmarking with Delicious

One of the technology coordinators in my school district showed me the social bookmarking site, Delicious. Honestly, I really wasn’t sold on the idea of the site; however, I added some of my favorites to the site and decided to give it a try. So far I am really enjoying it… Jerram, you were right. 🙂

Basically a social bookmarking site like Delicious is a place for you to keep track of your favorite websites while sharing them with others. The service is free and it takes about twenty seconds to set up an account. Once you have logged in, you can add websites you enjoy to your page. When you add sites to your page, you are prompted to “tag” them. Basically “tags” are words you think describe or categorize the site. You can enter a single “tag” or multiple “tags.” You can then search for your favorite by typing in one of the “tags” in the search box at the top of the page. You will receive a list of your favorite websites with these “tags,” and you will also be able to see how many other people have “tagged” the site as a favorite. Amazingly (or at least to me), you also have access to all the other websites “tagged” by the user. So, say you are looking for something on Shakepeare, instead of searching the entire Internet, you can start at Delicious to see what websites other users have “tagged” Shakespeare and think are useful… sound confusing? I suggest setting up an account and trying it out. You are also welcome to view and search my Delicious page.

If you are still confused, there is an interesting article on social book marking in Forbes I would suggest reading.

Explore posts in the same categories: Delicious

One Comment on “Social Bookmarking with Delicious”

  1. LeftLaneEnds Says:

    Once you get started… 😉

    I love de.licio.us (even though I have to think through the spelling one letter at a time as I type it – I’m one of THOSE people)! I have found recently that I can harness my A.D.D. powers (super hero theme here? A.D.D. Man!) by making connections that I never would have made if it weren’t for seeing what other people were tagging about the same topic I tagged. As the saying goes – Two heads are better than one!


Leave a Reply

