Web 2.0

The phrase Web 2.0 has been bandied about a lot lately especially in the world of educational technology. I have heard many different definitions although they all seem to discuss how the web is evolving into a social and collaborative network. Along these same lines, Mark Glaser of Mediashift has written an interesting article about Web 2.0 and what it is.

In the article Mark classifies various companies as web 1.0 or web 2.0 companies.

Web 2.0 Companies:

Bloglines
del.icio.us
Flickr
MySpace
Technorati
YouTube
Wikipedia

Web 1.0 Companies:

Amazon
eBay
Friendster
Lycos
Netscape
Pets.com
Webvan

After thinking about the categorization, I am not sure I agree. Not that it matters immensely, but I think I would classify Amazon as a web 2.0 company. If you look at Amazon’s website, I think you will find many features that would cause it to fit in the web 2.0 category: user reviews, social tagging, recommendations based on what others viewed and purchased and personalized recommendations based on your own history. These seem like web 2.0 features to me, but maybe just I don’t get it. Anyone care to clarify?

Explore posts in the same categories: web 2.0

One Comment on “Web 2.0”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    I agree with your assessment. I would put eBay and Amazon at the top of the list of websites that lead the way from 1.0 to 2.0.


Leave a Reply

