This I Believe Student Podcasts

This I Believe is an exciting national project that invites you to write about the core beliefs that guide your daily life.” NPR has most recently been hosting this essay/podcast series which was initially begun as a weekly radio segment by Edward R. Murrow in the 1950s.

The Academy of Irving has attempted to “borrow” this idea by encouraging students to write and record their own This I Believe essays and publish them for others to enjoy. I extended my technical assistance to the English classes here on campus, and Ms. Tole decided to take me up on the offer. She has had several classes write essays, a couple of students record, and so far one student who has sent me his for publication (I believe he submitted it to the NPR site as well).

So, please take a moment to listen to Jerry’s This I Believe essay about the power of music. I am sure he would enjoy your feedback. I think he did an excellent job.

I will post more submissions here as I receive them.

Explore posts in the same categories: Academy, NPR, Podcasts

5 Comments on “This I Believe Student Podcasts”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Great idea for a lesson and fantastic job with the essay/podcast.

  2. Anonymous Says:

    wow, that is an awesome essay! good job! i hope it gets broadcasted :)!

  3. Angelique Says:

    Wow, Jerry is my super best friend 🙂 and I believe he did an amazing job on the essay. I hope he does get broadcasted.. he has a dream indeed! 😀

  4. Anonymous Says:

    Good job! I would love to hear some more essays.

  5. Miguel Says:

    Great! Thanks Angela!

    Miguel Guhlin
    http://www.mguhlin.net/blog


Leave a Reply

