Algebra Olympics

The fantastic Algebra I teachers on my campus (Phillip Hubbard, Anna Legrand, Melissa Robinson, Randa Dillon and Lesley Whitewater) have been conducting the Algebra Olympics over the last couple of weeks. Students from all of the Algebra I teachers form teams and work collaboratively to complete several tasks while competing against the teams from other classes. The Olympics are still in full-swing, so we are not sure who the winning team wil be… 🙂

The events are as follows:

Indoor Events:

Human Graph – Teams of students race against the clock to graph linear and quadratic equations on a life-sized version of a coordinate plane.

Jeopardy! – Students match wits with each other in a Jeopardy! Game designed to test their algebra vocabulary.

Hidden Temple – Teams of students solve systems of equations problems and then participate in various activities to get the final prize.

Outdoor Events:

Algebra Relay Race – Teams of students race in four legs while matching linear equations with their respective tables and graphs.

Amazing Race – Teams of students will factor and solve quadratics. Other team members will have to perform various activities along the way while they are waiting for their teammates to finish (hula hoop, blow bubbles, play golf, paddleball).

Soccer Shootout! – Teams have to simplify polynomials for points and then have a chance to make more points by shooting a soccer ball into the goal.

The kids are having a great time while reviewing Algebra concepts. As a bonus, they are also working collaboratively and learning about teamwork. Students can gain or lose points based upon how well their team functions and how they treat each other.

I think the Algebra Olympics is a great way to reinforce curricular concepts while having some fun. Way to go Algebra I teachers!

Explore posts in the same categories: Academy, Algebra, Education

4 Comments on “Algebra Olympics”

  1. Kyle Stevens Says:

    Human Graphing sounds interesting. Fun math in my class consisted of logic puzzles. It is possible to capture a picture of any of the Olympic events?

  2. astephens Says:

    I have some pics of the events if you would like to see them. I did not want to post them because of privacy issues.


  3. I certainly agree that the Math Olympics represents creative and effective teaching. I personally know two of the teachers and have a high regard for them and there devotion to helping students succeed. All of the teachers are clearly working hard to help their students master algebra.

    I was going to let it go at that until you hit my nerve endings with “factor and solve quadratics.” The lives of these teachers and their students would be so much easier and more enjoyable if they were able to devote their efforts toward useful learning instead of having to invent entertaining games to help students swallow generally useless knowledge for the purpose of meeting graduation requirements and passing state tests.

    I’m very good at mathematics. I can factor profusely and taught mathematics at the high school and college level. It was useful for me to learn algebra in high school. It would not have been useful for many of my classmates who were not good at mathematics. Fortunately, they were not required to do so.

    I can’t draw! Requiring that I be able to produce art copying the work of great artists in order to complete high school would have been a waste of my time. Most others can do it better than I, and working hard to build my skills in that area would be of little or no value to me.

    A significant number of students can’t do abstract math. Requiring that they copy the work of great mathematicians in order to graduate from high school is a waste of their time. Most others can do it better and building their skills in that area is of little or no value to them.

    I applaud the fantastic work of the math teachers at The Academy. I just wish they didn’t need to do it!

  4. Man-alley Says:

    Thanks for the great tips on blogging!


Leave a Reply

