The Political Dr. Seuss and Other Cool Stuff at the PBS Website

I spent a large portion of last week writing model lessons that integrate ELA TEKS and technology for Irving ISD. As I began to run out of ideas, I started searching the web for some inspiration and I came across The Political Dr. Seuss website. The site intrigued me because when I used to teach English, I often utilized children’s books to illustrate theme and other literary elements. The Butter Battle Book by Dr. Seuss is one of the books I used to demonstrate the concept of allegory. Sometimes using a seemingly simple resource like a children’s book can have a powerful affect in the classroom.

According to the Dr. Seuss site, there is a documentary entitled The Political Dr. Seuss which is available for purchase. The site also offers some sample lesson plans to go along with the video. I can’t really endorse the film because I have not seen it (although I would like to), so if any of you have seen the documentary, I would love to get your thoughts on it.

After I got through looking at the Dr. Seuss site I clicked on the Interactive link and was brought to another pretty nifty resource for educators – Electric Shadows. According to the Electric Shadows site, “ELECTRIC SHADOWS projects present the “unflinching visions of independent producers” by exploring arts and culture via the Web, exclusively. Presented by Independent Lens and ITVS Interactive and funded by the Corporation for Public Broadcasting, these award-winning sites bring the power of nonlinear storytelling online.”

There are three interactive projects listed…

Beyond the Fire – “BEYOND THE FIRE introduces the real-life stories of 15 teenagers, now living in the U.S., who have survived war in seven war zones.”

Face to Face – “Connect the experiences of Japanese Americans in the aftermath of Pearl Harbor with those confronting Arab and Muslim Americans today in a post-September 11 America.”

Circle of Stones – “With Native culture bearers as your guides, explore the art, heritage and legacy of the Native American oral tradition.”

Apparently there is some pretty cool stuff for educators over at PBS. Take a look and let me know what you find.

Explore posts in the same categories: Dr. Seuss, PBS, Reading

Leave a Reply

