Eclectic Reading

I have had a somewhat eclectic reading list since the summer started. I began with Sons and Lovers by D.H. Lawrence and read along side it The World is Flat by Thomas L. Friedman. I say along side it… I am finished with Sons and Lovers but am still working on The World is Flat; it always seems to take me longer to read and digest a piece of non-fiction. Although not my favorite book, I did enjoy Sons and Lovers. So far it is the only thing I have read by D.H. Lawrence, but I have always wanted to read The Rainbow, so I think I will add it to my list.

I still have about 120 pages left in The World is Flat, but that hasn’t stopped me from starting a new book – High Tide in Tucson by Barbara Kingsolver. Barbara Kingsolver is one of my favorite contemporary writers, and I have enjoyed all the books of hers I have read: The Poisonwood Bible, Prodigal Summer, The Bean Trees, Pigs in Heaven and Small Wonders. While reading High Tide in Tucson, I was particularly touched by an essay entitled How Mr. Dewey Decimal Saved My Life. It is about how one person (in this case a librarian) helped the narrator (Kingsolver) find her place in this world.

I especially related to this quote,

“Now, with my adolescence behind me and my daughter’s still ahead, I am nearly speechless with gratitude for the endurance and goodwill of librarians in an era that discourages reading in almost incomprehensible ways. We’ve create for ourselves a culture that undervalues education (compared with the rest of the industrialized world, to say the least), undervalues breadth of experience (compared with our potential), downright discourages critical thinking (judging from what the majority of us watch and read), and distrusts foreign ideas. ‘Un-American,’ from what I hear is meant to be an insult.”

Interestingly enough the quote from Kingsolver echoes what Friedman says in his book as well. If you have never read any books by Kingsolver, I suggest picking one up.

So, what else do I have on my shelf waiting to be read? Hopefully before the summer is over I will get to read:

Blogs, Wikis, Podcasts and Other Powerful Web Tools for Classrooms by Will Richardson
The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho
Other People’s Children by Lisa Delpit
The Traveler’s Gift by Andy Andrews
Blink by Malcolm Gladwell

I will also probably throw in an assortment of fiction just to keep me entertained. If you have any additional suggestions let me know.

Explore posts in the same categories: Reading

One Comment on “Eclectic Reading”


  1. […] I wrote an earlier post about the books I plan to read this summer, and so far, I have finished The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho and The Traveler’s Gift by Andy Andrews and although I found them both to be inspirational and enjoyable, it is the book I am reading now that I find to be the most intriguing – Blink by Malcolm Gladwell. […]


Leave a Reply

