The World is Flat

Well, I finally did it! I finished reading The World is Flat by Thomas Friedman. Although it took me FOREVER to read (because I read several other books at the same time), I did enjoy it. I thought it was an insightful look at technology and globalization. Since it took me so long to read, and it is full of scads of interesting information, I will probably have to read it again (or listen to the audio book) to be capable of discussing it intelligently.

My “ah-hah” moment came, as I neared the end of the book and came across a quote by Michael Hammer, a business consultant, which really struck a chord with me.

“One thing that tells me a company is in trouble is when they tell me how good they were in the past… When memories exceed dreams, the end is near. The hallmark of a truly successful organization is the willingness to abandon what made it successful and start fresh.”

I think the same can be said for schools and teachers. So many teachers teach the same lessons in the exact same way every year but with different students. I think one of the most important attributes of a teacher and a good school is the ability to adapt to the needs of her students. This can’t be done if nothing ever changes.

I know that planning lessons takes a long time. I know that changing the culture of a school is a long and difficult task. But, isn’t it worth it if we can better prepare our students?

If nothing else, Friedman’s book illustrates that those who are complacent will be swept aside as technology increases at a staggering rate, so I think it is imperative as educators that we strive to continually learn new technologies and instructional strategies and implement them in our classroom. I think our future generation is worth the time and effort.

Explore posts in the same categories: Education, Reading, Technology, The World is Flat, Thomas Friedman, web 2.0

Leave a Reply

