Blogs, Wikis, Podcasts, and Other Powerful Web Tools for Classrooms

I am slowly progressing through the mounds of books I planned to read this summer. I finished Blink by Malcolm Gladwell, and as my initial posting on the book suggests, I am a big fan of the book. I am going to have to read Malcolm Gladwell’s The Tipping Point next.

I also finished reading Will Richardson’s Blogs, Wikis, Podcasts, and Other Powerful Web Tools for Classrooms. I must admit I was a little skeptical as I opened the book. I feel like I am at least pretty familiar with these new technologies and what they mean to today’s classrooms, so I went in thinking that I would probably not learn much new information. But, as it turns out, I did learn some new information as well as some new insights into the implementation of the technologies. As I read through the book, I dog-eared the pages with information I wanted to revisit, and when I finished, there were twenty-three pages dog-eared… not bad.

I am not going to share everything I enjoyed from the book because that would take too long, but I will share some of my favorite quotes.

“On first blush, the tools on this new Web may not seem well-suited to a climate of standardized test scores and government accountability. Some will see the constructionist, collaborative pedagogy of Weblogs, wikis, digital photo and video, and others as presenting a risk instead of a solution for a system whose students continue to struggle to stay apace of their international peers. In reality, however, these tools have considerable relevance to state and core content curriculum standards, and there is much reason to believe their implemetation in schools will better prepare students for a slew of new literacies and competencies in their post-education lives.” Yes, well said Mr. Richardson.

“Whether its blogs or wikis or RSS, all roads now point to a Web where little is done in isolation and all things are collaborative and social in nature.” I think most employers would echo this statement in regards to the workplace as well. Part of our educational system needs to focus on teaching students how to work through problems together as well as in isolation (with or without technology).

“In the age of the Read/Write Web, the explosion of information and online technologies demands a more complex definition of what it means to be literate. For more than a hundred years we have defined being literate as being able to read and write. And although those core abilities are still central to learning, they are no longer enough to ensure understanding.” With all of the information on the Internet, it is imperative that we educate students on how to locate and validate resources.

If you are interested in integrating these types of technologies in your classroom (which I highly recommend), then I would suggest picking up a copy of the book. There are some nice instructions to get started with these technologies as well as some good ideas and resources on how to effectively implement them in the classroom.

So, I have decided to take a break and read some fiction next, and I have begun The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexander Dumas. I haven’t read it since my sophomore year in high school so I thought I would see if my perception of the book has changed any.

Explore posts in the same categories: Blink, Blog, Collaborative, EdTech, Education, Malcolm Gladwell, Podcasts, Reading, Technology, web 2.0, Wiki, Will Richardson

One Comment on “Blogs, Wikis, Podcasts, and Other Powerful Web Tools for Classrooms”


  1. […] on another note… I have one former post that 90% or more of my inappropriate spam comments are posted to.  Why this particular […]


Leave a Reply

