Back to Work

Well, today is the first day back at work after a relaxing holiday break.  I must say that it was a little difficult to drag myself out of bed this morning (it is amazing how soon one’s sleeping patterns can change).  I hope you also had a relaxing and enjoyable holiday season and New Year and have come back to work rejuvenated.

I decided to take some time off from the blog over the break and to just read books instead of Edublogs, so I have a lot of catching up to do!

I was excited when I logged on to the blog today that I have surpassed the 10,000 mark as far as views are concerned… not to shabby. 😉

I have been contemplating about the things I would like to share on the blog this year, so here are some things you can look forward to.

  • As always, my opinions about whatever is happening in educational news
  • Tech tips and teaching strategies
  • Examples of solid lessons I come across (hopefully from many of my teachers)
  • Cool sites I come across on the web
  • And whatever else I find interesting…

So, before I begin my first “official” post of the New Year (which will probably come later today), I thought I would share a little song I heard on NPR which parodies the importance placed on testing in education.  Hope you enjoy. 🙂

Explore posts in the same categories: Education, NPR, Random, Standardized Testing

4 Comments on “Back to Work”

  1. kstringer Says:

    pathetically funny.


  2. Kathleen,

    I particularly liked hearing such a sarcastic song sung as a lullaby… funny (but sad).

  3. John Brown Says:

    Tom Chapin, who performs “Not on the Test”, is the brother of Harry Chapin, the great songwriter and balladeer of the late seventies and early eighties. In 1979 Harry wrote and sang “Flowers are Red”, a wonderful song about the narrowness of education at that time. It is even more apropos today.


  4. Dr. Brown,

    I had never heard of the song “Flowers are Red” but I Googled it, read the lyrics and listened to the song. It is a great view about how much one teacher (or person) can affect the life of a student… interesting.


Leave a Reply

