The Changing Face of Politics

Anyone who has ever had me as a student in class or has sat next to me in a meeting knows that I have difficulty paying attention when someone is speaking for lengthy periods of time (and sometimes short periods of time too).  The State of the Union Address is an example of one of these times. 

I lasted about 5 minutes and that was all I could take (my husband, on the other hand had a bowl of popcorn and seemed to think he was watching a movie). I know the State of the Union is important.  I know they are historic moments and all, but I just can’t ever seem to make myself sit through them… and with the shift towards politics on the Internet, I don’t have to.  

I can read the State of the Union address, listen to it or view it – I chose to read it, but you might like one of the other options and that is the beauty of the Internet. 

I also have trouble following the Presidential election via television, so I am glad that candidates are beginning to realize the importance of advertising and campaigning on the web. Keep a watch out for political blogs, podcasts and video podcasts to increase in the coming months. 

I hope that government, history and speech teachers take the opportunity to integrate these new technologies in their classrooms as politicians become more familiar with the web. 

You might want to check out some of the following political sites: 

I am sure there are tons of other great political sites, so feel free to share your favorites as well as your ideas for integrating them in your curriculum.

Explore posts in the same categories: EdTech, Education, politics, State of the Union

3 Comments on “The Changing Face of Politics”

  1. S. Seifipour Says:

    My very favorite political website is this one! I especially like the kids’ section.

  2. madmouser Says:

    In 2004, I was a participant on the web during the debates. What we did was indicate on the computer when we liked or disliked what we heard. At the conclusion of the debates, they showed the up and down levels posted by the participants as a method of judging how well the messages were received. It was fun and very interesting. campaigners

  3. deadwerks Says:

    I’m not so quick to welcome politics into the realm of the web. Look what they did to radio and T.V.

    Fortunately, most people don’t read books, so politicians rarely spend the time to write anything worth reading since Machiavelli’s “The Prince” and The Federalist Papers.


Leave a Reply

