Fun With Myths and Legends

I came across this site yesterday when I was reading my Metafilter feeds.  I haven’t had a chance to investigate the site intensely but from my initial look, it seems pretty fun and certainly has potential uses in the classroom.

I wrote about Toondoo the other day, but I think I like this site a little more.  Although it doesn’t produce a comic strip like Toondoo, it still gives the same sort of options to summarize a concept or reading, and it also appears to have a few more features.

The Myths and Legends site allows for more frames (or in this case chapters) to be created than in Toondoo. It also allows the author to record audio narration along with the story. Overall, it seems like a quick and easy way to produce a digital story or summary of ideas without any necessary software.

I plan to play around with it a little more, and I would love to hear from any of you who have used it in the classroom.

Explore posts in the same categories: digital storytelling, Myths and Legends, Writing

3 Comments on “Fun With Myths and Legends”

  1. jwitter Says:

    1 point to you for getting this first…

  2. Beth Bradley Says:

    I tried out Toondoo with my US history kids as a TAKS review. Each student had to take a founding document and create a strip that “taught” what the document was all about. Thanks to you and Sarah Seifipour, we all had a great time. Next time, I will spend more time outlining the parameters for the strips, however, since some of them didn’t contain much information. Plus, I had to get a couple of kids to rethink their word choices before they published. Logon to Toondoo and search Constitution to see some of the work from our kids. Note: We discovered that the Tag lines have to be filled in BEFORE the cartoon is saved the first time, after that the tags cannot be edited. I suggest that you have the kids put the teacher name or some other prearranged tag into the tag line to make the search for the student work easier. Beth


  3. Beth,

    I am glad to hear you have used Toondoo in your class! It sounds like you learned some helpful lessons for the next time your students use the site… thank you for your input and advice.


Leave a Reply

