Developing an On-line Class – Part II

I posted the other day to get some ideas about what to include in the on-line health course I am helping to create for my school district. Since this initial post, we have begun the creation process and are off to a pretty good start (I think).

We have a decided on thirteen modules of study and each module is broken in to consistent “chunks” –

  • What will I learn? – This is the section where we outline the learning objectives for the module.
  • What do I read? – In this section we have links to the on-line text book and any other necessary readings.
  • What do I watch/study?– Video clips, links to websites, PowerPoints and other study resources are placed in this section.
  • What do I talk about?– We plan on using the discussion board as an integral portion of the class for students to interact with each other and the instructor.
  • What do I do? – This section includes the actual assignments students need to complete for each module.
  • What do I know? – The final section of each module will include quizzes and/or short tests to assess the students’ knowledge of each module.

We have also created a course syllabus which includes information about the course, links to the state TEKS and links to each module.

There is also a course schedule with links to each module, dues dates and class dates (which are on-line and which are face-to-face).

We have a pretty impressive skeleton set up and now we are just working on getting all of the modules filled in with high-level and engaging lessons.

I welcome any suggestion you have for tying the course together. I would also like your thoughts on the framework we have chosen. Do you think it will be user-friendly for students? We have tried to make it as easy to follow as we can… for example,  each section in the module is a consistent color throughout all modules.

Love your thoughts on this one!

Explore posts in the same categories: High School, IISD, on-line coursework

4 Comments on “Developing an On-line Class – Part II”

  1. John Brown Says:

    Do you have any students involved in your creative process?

    They are the customer.

  2. Carie Tagorda Says:

    I think the outline seems pretty user friendly if it is worded as you showed in the post. The main thing is to make it VERY CLEAR exactly what is expected of the student. How is the course is going to be presented? Online only or a combination of online and face-to-face instruction? I’ve taken a number of online courses and I feel it is very important for there to be consistency in the presentation of materials. If the structure of each module is the same then that should help eliminate confusion with what the student is responsible for.

  3. Carie Tagorda Says:

    Of the classes I have taken online, I feel the the most beneficial use of the chat room has been when we had a set time where we had to log in and the teacher moderated a live chat session. It is not as easy as going in a posting a comment whenever you have time but I feel I benefited much more from the interaction with the other students. In most of my classes the discussion boards have been more asynchronous. It does allow you the convenience of posting a response on your own time but it also allows you to be more passive. You can read only one post and respond to it without having to read all the other students ideas. It allows for more minimal interaction with the material. Also, it is also easier to forget a post if you do not have a set time and also allows for people to go in later and piggy-back off of others ideas without really engaging themselves in the material.

    Again, these are experiences and observations I’ve had with my online courses through UNT. I think that both disscussion methods are useful but I think I would try to utilize a “live” discussion board where users must actively participate in a real-time discussion.


  4. Thank you both for your comments.

    Dr. B – Unfortunately, the answer to your question is no. We are going to “tweak” the course after the first group of students use it in summer school and we get their feedback, but there are no students directly involved in the planning stages.

    Carie –

    Thanks for all of your input. I think you are correct that consistency is key. We have designed each module to be consistent in design, so hopefully that will help students feel more comfortable. The summer school session where we will “launch” the class will include a weekly face-to-face meeting which I also think is going to prove to be important with high school students especially. We are still working through our guidelines for the discussion board, so we will take your ideas in to account.

    Again, thank you both for your input. I will “report” more on the course as we continue to develop it and as the first students work through it.


Leave a Reply

