No Power = No Technology

Seriously… none. 

Since the storms came through on Wednesday evening, I have been without power at my house.  I have since realized that I take electricity for granted because we use it for almost EVERYTHING.

In fact, here is a list of things that I have been unable to do because of the lack of electricity…

  1. Wash/dry laundry – I was right in the middle of doing this when the power went out 😦
  2. Pay my bills on-line – Something else I was right in the middle of doing when we lost power.
  3. Watch television (or TIVO shows to watch later)
  4. Talk on the phone (I have a cordless which requires electricity)
  5. Use the Internet
  6. Read (after about 7:00pm)
  7. Charge my iPod or cell phone (I had to purchase a car charger for my cell phone yesterday)
  8. Vacuum
  9. Dry my hair, straighten my hair and/or see to apply my make-up well (candle light just doesn’t seem to do it)
  10. Iron my clothes
  11. Cook ANYTHING… but since ALL of our food has spoiled, I really have nothing to cook at this point 😦

I could go on and on, but the point is… I do these things EVERY day and I never think about how lucky I am to have electricity.  It certainly makes life easier.

I will say that I am ECSTATIC to still have hot water (our water heater is gas). 🙂

Hopefully, I will have electricty when I get home today, and I can rejoin the 21st century.

Explore posts in the same categories: Electricity, Random, Rant, Technology

Leave a Reply

