KIVA

When I was on the treadmill at the gym today, I watched a little CNN and was specifically intrigued by a segment on CNN Heroes.  The segment I saw discussed how Matt and Jessica Flannery created Kiva as way to connect entrepreneurs in developing countries with lenders all over the world.

According to the Kiva website, “Kiva lets you connect with and loan money to unique small businesses in the developing world. By choosing a business on Kiva.org, you can “sponsor a business” and help the world’s working poor make great strides towards economic independence. Throughout the course of the loan (usually 6-12 months), you can receive email journal updates from the business you’ve sponsored. As loans are repaid, you get your loan money back.”

It makes sense to me, so I think I am going to give it a try; I will update you as I receive information on the loan I give. 

If you want to get involved, you can lend as little as $25.00 or as much as you would like, and you can choose specifically whose venture you would like to contribute too.  Pretty cool!  They also have a blog in case you want to check it out. 

Explore posts in the same categories: Charity, Kiva

3 Comments on “KIVA”

  1. Carie Tagorda Says:

    I think this is great! It would be great to incorporate this into the Entrepreneurship class.

    Have a great summer

    Carie


  2. It is an incredible opportunity to help people help themselves. The sense of pride and ownership is life changing. If only I had been at the gym this week, I might have seen the special!

  3. sharepeace Says:

    Kiva is an amazing organization, empowering entrepreneurs. We just made our first donation and are excited about the updates on their way… obviously an organization we will re-donate to and re-invest the repaid loan.


Leave a Reply

