Things I Have Learned About Life

My students have been working on some assignments to get them thinking about what they believe so they may compose their This I Believe essay (based upon the series on NPR).

Yesterday, their warm-up was to read some examples and then write a statement about things they have learned about life. These are some of my favorites:

  • I’ve learned that when I break up with a girlfriend, I still get jealous when they have someone new.
  • I have learned that you have to fail in order to succeed.

  • I have learned that people are like books – the inside can be very different than what the cover suggests.

  • I have learned that education isn’t everything; it doesn’t determine if you are a good person or not.

  • I have learned that life is too short to waste it doing dumb things.

  • I have learned that no matter what happens, or how bad it seems today, life does go on, and it will be better tomorrow.

  • I have learned that sometimes waiting for something is worth it in the end.

  • I have learned that no matter how dark and scary the valley is, I can still make it to the mountain.

  • I have learned you don’t have to look for problems; they come to you.

  • I have learned that you should appreciate the people you have because tomorrow they may not be there.

  • I have learned that by asking nicely you can get more of what you ask for.

And here are a couple of the funnier ones:

  • I have learned that pushing a truck into another truck gets you 2 days of suspension and 4 days of ISS – and a lot of drama.

  • I have learned that when you install a turbocharger, you also need to install an intercooler.

All in all, I was impressed with their responses, and it was a fun little warm-up to get them thinking.

If you are interested in having your students write their own This I Believe essays, you might want to visit this site for some resources.

As we start writing and recording our essays, I hope to have more student work to share!

Speaking of sharing… what have you learned? Feel free to share your responses in the comments.

What have I learned? I have learned that you have to live with the choices you make.

Explore posts in the same categories: This I Believe

2 Comments on “Things I Have Learned About Life”


  1. […] I Hope November 5th, 2007 — musingsfromtheacademy My students are editing their This I Believe essays tomorrow and turning in the written copy to me.  We are supposed to begin recording an […]

  2. Tim Holt Says:

    You may be interested in the meme: This I believe at Intended Consequences:

    http://www.snipurl.com/ic

    click on podcast
    click on This I believe

    Enjoy


Leave a Reply

