The Little Green OLPC Laptop

The other day I walked in my principal’s office and saw him playing with an OLPC laptop, and I said, “I must have it!” So he directed me to the actual owner (another principal) who allowed me to take it down to my office and play with it for a bit.

OLPC

My initial reaction is that it is the cutest laptop I have ever seen, and it is rather toy-like in its appearance. In less than a minute I had connected to the district’s wireless network and was searching Google. I also opened the word processor, recorded via the webcam and played around with some of the programs. I didn’t have a chance to do any in-depth evaluations, but in the time I had it, I was pretty impressed with its capabilities.

OLPC 2

The school district has purchased twenty or so OLPC laptops for us to tinker with and evaluate for possible uses, so I hope to get my hands on another one soon.

Oh, and just in case you are wondering, my favorite part of the little laptop is the keyboard. Typing on it reminded me of squishing the puffy stickers from the 80’s… weird, I know, but oddly enough, it made me smile. 🙂

3.jpg

Explore posts in the same categories: Irving ISD, OLPC

Leave a Reply

