The TAKS Has Not Broken Our Spirits (at least yet)!

The ELA TAKS test is looming in the near future (March 5th), and since I teach 11th graders, which is the exit-level test, I am feeling the need to review some of the TAKS concepts. I don’t, however, want to beat my students down with TAKS drill-and-kill, so I have tried to be somewhat creative in reviewing the skills they need to know.

A couple of my assignments have been to watch a short video clip and answer some questions using key TAKS vocabulary (convey, author’s purpose, inference, summarize, etc.) The students seem to enjoy it and get a review of some TAKS concepts to boot. The video they have seemed to enjoy the most so far is Education Today and Tomorrow.

After watching the video (on their own laptops) the students answered these questions and submitted them to me via Blackboard… not a ground-breaking use of technology, but much more fun than TAKS drill-and-kill.

I was very excited to hear the answers to this question in particular “After watching the video, do you think you are receiving an adequate education for your future? Why or why not? Give specific reasons.”

So, I thought I would share some of their answers with you…

  • Yes I am. The technology and resources from my school is sufficient to help me form my path in life after high school.

  • I think I am getting an adequate education because I am in a school that is giving me the opportunity to have a better job.

  • I think we are, because what we are learning we are actually going to use it in real life.

  • Yes, because my teachers are actually doing their job and teaching us the right way and with the right tools.

  • Yes, the school I am in provides skills for a positive future.

  • Yes, I think that we are receiving a good education because we are learning things that we are going to use in the real world.

  • I think I am getting an adequate education, and I am studying for a career so I think I am good.

  • Yes, because we are using a lot of technology in my school. I do most of my work on my laptop.

  • Yes, I’m receiving a good education because I’m learning a lot and the technology in my school is advanced.

  • I think I am because a lot of teachers clearly explain everything, and you can always ask them for help when it’s needed.

And unfortunately a negative…

  • No, because we focus too much on TAKS testing than things that really matter. – I actually discussed this idea with the student and he made a very poignant argument… 😦

I was just glad to know that the majority of my students are proud of their school and what they are learning. 🙂

Explore posts in the same categories: Academy, Education, TAKS, Yea

2 Comments on “The TAKS Has Not Broken Our Spirits (at least yet)!”

  1. Dave Says:

    When I competed in UIL Writing, we were always told that, if we chose to write based on the persuasive prompt, we should support the side that we thought the judges would support. 😉


  2. Yeah, I may be a little naive, but I am going to assume they are telling the truth with their responses. That way I am happy. 🙂


Leave a Reply

