NECC 2008 – Day One – Session One

Today is the first day of concurrent sessions at NECC 2008 in San Antonio.  I am going to try my best and share notes and ideas from the sessions I attend today… we will see how long I can keep it up.  You can follow me live on Twitter @astevens74.  My Twitter will probably be a little more active than the blog.

Session One: Creating a Personal Learning Network in Second Life

I chose to attend this session because I am a little intrigued with Second Life and the potential professional development and classroom uses.  I have played around with it some but was initially frustrated by my inability to navigate effectively, and I sort of gave up for the time being. I also used to work with one of the presenters, Elaine Plybon, and I thought I would see how she is doing.

  • Presenters began by introducing themselves and telling how they began in Second Life – Discovery Educator’s Network
  • Many of presentation panel had not met in “real life” until attending NECC conference
  • DEN’s Second Life Blog – http://blog.discoveryeducation.com/secondlife
  • Recommend the Unofficial Beginner’s Guide to Second Life and Second Life for Dummies
  • Showed a humorous video about a beginning teacher in Second Life and their transformation in to an effective user
  • DEN Leaders will be in the Second Life Lounge (SL Lounge) tomorrow (Tuesday) at 3:00PM
  • Wiki at http://deninsl-necc2008.wikispaces.com/
  • There is a “sandbox” outside of DEN in SL to practice building; must purchase or lease land to build on
  • SL will run on Windows, Mac or Linux

My thoughts on the session… I can certainly see the usefulness of using SL as a personal learning network.  Perhaps I will have to try it again and begin by visiting DEN’s and ISTE’s SL networks.  I would love to hear from any of yho ou whave used SL effectively.  How did you get started?  What do you do in SL? How has it benefitted your personal and professional learning?

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

5 Comments on “NECC 2008 – Day One – Session One”

  1. Lor Says:

    So glad you attended our session. Please try to come visit us during out Wed Workshops and let us know if we can assist you!

    Lor


  2. […] of the DEN in SL LC’s session, they rocked the house!  And there were more than just a few blog posts about it.   In fact, Beth Knittle of the aforementioned LC has a post well worth reading […]


  3. […] Musings from the academy thoughts […]


Leave a Reply

