Random Thoughts about Random Things

We are nearing the second week of school and so far all seems to be going well.  Laptops were handed out to freshmen yesterday and today, so we are pretty close to have 100% of the students with their laptops; sometimes i think the freshmen teachers are just as excited when the ninth graders get their laptops as the kids are. 🙂

We have some great new teachers who are jumping in with both feet – ready to learn themselves and ready to teach the students.

I have had lots of volunteers for Teaching and Learning Tuesdays and we have some interesting sessions coming up. I am teaching an upcoming TL Tuesday on creating virtual field trips/tours using Google Earth which is pushing me a little out of my comfort zone and making me learn some new things which is always good.

Over the summer I have become more participatory with Twitter and subscribe to a nice little network of people who are always sharing new ideas, tools, etc. to keep me learning and thinking (my user is astevens74 if you would like to join me).  I can even get my tweets at work via TwitterFox (since Twitter is blocked).  I have even FINALLY joined Facebook and have started playing around with it to try to understand our students’ perspectives a little better, and surprisingly, I am finding Facebook pretty fun.

So, all in all, things are going well with me and my school; I hope the start of your school year has been a positive one as well.  And just in case you need a reminder of why we teach and why it matters, check out this student speaker from DISD because I think he sums it up pretty nicely.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

